I like last night’s new “close button” feature with its prompt to save or close without saving.
But I still feel the interaction between this and autosave is not consistent with how everyday desktop apps (eg MS Office) work, and therefore is confusing.
I would like to be able to close-without-saving, when I need to, always. Not have the close functionality suddenly withdrawn because I was a second too late and autosave happened. (But I still want autosave to have been working in the background in case I DO want to keep my changes.)
So I prefer the MS approach: close-without-saving is always available, regardless of autosave, and restores the file how it was when opened. Or the Adobe Creative Cloud approach: a ‘revert’ button that restores to opened state.
The use case for close-without-saving is pretty strong: open a map, fiddle with it to test something (“how much more time would it take if I went over there on the way”; “what would this be like in reverse”; “what if I banned highways today” etc), then put it back the way it was with a single click.